The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events) – Lemony Snicket

BadBeginningThis is the first book in a series of 13 wickedly funny novels for children which follow the turbulent lives of Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire after their parents die in a suspicious fire. The children are placed in the custody of their Uncle, Count Olaf, who attempts to steal their inheritance. In the first book, he tries to marry Violet, despite her young age, by pretending it’s the storyline for his latest play. The plan falls through when Violet uses her left hand to sign the marriage document.  In subsequent books, Olaf tries many ways to steal their fortune, committing a slew of crimes along the way. The children routinely try to get help from the adults around them who remain oblivious to danger. These books are short, and the setting interesting in a Victorian-sort of way, but it is the humorous writing style of the author that truly sets them apart.


10 thoughts on “The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events) – Lemony Snicket

    1. That’s funny. My son loved the books too. He made it almost to the end of the series but was getting older by the time the last few came out so I don’t think he finished.


      1. I’ve enjoyed it so far. I’ve read the first two. It’s very clever. But my son tried it and he didn’t really like it. I feel like the author is really writing more towards adults with his dialog and humor. My son just didn’t find it funny, but I did.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.